Chicken Pastry

I’m trying to squeeze in a quick blog post as Amina goes through her second sleep cycle. Let’s just say a whole lot of crying was happening while I was trying not to rush in and be Super Mommy.  It’s been hard, but hopefully I will be able to stay out of the room and Amina will learn how to put herself back to sleep.

This recipe that I’m going to share with you comes from Fauzia’s Kitchen Fun and was one that I tried back in August {crying episode 1 break-phew back to sleep!}, but I was in my last month of pregnancy and was way too sleep deprived to sit down and write a post about it.  Little did I know that it would be MORE challenging to write now that lil’ Amina has arrived!

{2nd crying episode break…which turned out to a wake up, feed and do grocery shopping break… 3 hours later I return to complete this post}

Fauzia calls this recipe Chicken Bread, but I call it Chicken Pastry because I didn’t make bread dough, rather I used frozen puffed pastry to save time and save my poor feet from swelling any further.

Chicken Pastry

{Unfortunately there is no picture of my Chicken Pastry because my hard drive died and I never got to save the picture, however, I have linked to Fauzia’s recipe which will show you what it’s supposed to look like}

Pastry

2 puff pastry sheets, thawed

Chicken filling

2 cooked chicken breasts (I took mine of a rotisserie chicken), shredded

1 small onion, chopped

8 baby carrots, shredded

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp garam masala powder

1/2 tsp corriander powder

2 tbsp corriander leaves, chopped

2 tbsp flour

1 tbsp olive oil

1 cup milk

seasame seeds as needed

1 green chili, chopped finely

1 egg and 1 tsp water, beaten together

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat  oil in a small pot and fry onions till soft. Add flour, salt, black pepper, garam masala and coriander powder.  Add milk and cook till mixture is a thick consistency. Stir in shredded chicken, green chili and coriander leaves. Remove pot and let mixture cool completely.

Take the thawed puff pastry sheets and place them on parchment-lined baking sheets. Put the cooled filling in the centre of the puff pastry rectangles and make slits on the left and right sides of the pastry sheet. Bring the top slits across the filling and alternate between pastry slits on either side of the sheet. (Please see Fauzia’s site as it has detailed, step-by-step instructions on how to plait the pastry slits.

Once the pastry has been plaited,  wash it with the egg and water mixture, sprinkle with seasame seeds and put into the oven for 15-20 minutes or until the pastry is golden.  Serve with ketchup or chutney.

4 thoughts on “Chicken Pastry

  1. Pingback: Chicken Pastry | A Pot of Thoughts

Leave a Reply

