DIY: Washi Tape Baby Wipes Container

For the first few months after birth, diaper changes are a snap. The baby stays put, allowing you to wipe up any messes, wash any bottoms, apply the necessary diaper cream and package up baby in a nice diaper.  Fast forward a few months, that same baby is sticking their toes in their mouth and reaching for everything in sight, including dirty diapers. This new exploratory behaviour increases the chances that a pee or poop accident will occur and mommy or daddy will be the main target.  To help keep baby’s attention long enough for a somewhat peaceful diaper change, why not decorate their wipes container with Washi tape?

The first time I decorated a wipes container with Washi tape, I didn’t cover up the company label and I didn’t go around the entire container.  I thought it would be okay, but the end result was that the label bled through the tape because Washi tape is semi-transparent. Also, Amina decided that she wanted to start exploring the OTHER sides of the wipes container, so I knew that I would have to cover all sides of the container on my second attempt.

Washi Tape

First attempt at Washi Tape decorating.

The second time I decorated the wipes container, I tried removing the label. Utter fail. That thing was stuck on and nothing I tried would get it off. I ended up using Avery 02222 Multi-Use Labels to cover it up.  The logo still bled through, even through two layers of labels! Oh well..move on.  The next thing I did was pick the Washi tape patterns that I wanted to use. Amina really liked the birds and the pink mosaic combination, so I stuck with that but added one line of orange for contrast. If you wanted to take it one step further, you could easily match the tapes to your baby’s nursery colours.

In an attempt to keep everything as straight as possible, I used small pieces of tape, just long enough to cover each side. There was some overlap. To secure the ends, I used a little bit of clear tape.

DIY Washi Tape

Second attempt

And there you have it. A simple and inexpensive way to keep your baby distracted during a diaper change.

2 thoughts on “DIY: Washi Tape Baby Wipes Container

  1. Another trick is a mirror at the change table. It kept Nusaiba entertained for many months and it keeps Mariam from fussing even now.

  2. Pingback: it's not even hard: fifty uses for washi tape in your dorm room - that girl magazine

Leave a Reply

