Strawberry Sauce

If you opened my fridge this past summer, the first thing you would see is the abundance of organic berries.  I would make a run to the grocery store for one or two things and I would almost always come back with 1-2 cartons of strawberries, blueberries, blackberries or raspberries.  Most of the time, these delicious gems would end up in a smoothie, but one pint of organic strawberries had a different destiny.

A few weeks back, I came across a recipe for strawberry sauce (can’t remember where I got it from…will try to look for the blog to give credit). I wasn’t sure if I would want to make it or not, but after checking that I had the ingredients and of course, the Belgian waffles and chocolate gelato (ahem) that it would be drizzled over, I got Amina busy with an activity and started to make some strawberry sauce magic.

The sauce is straight-forward and will be ready in about 10-15 minutes.

Strawberry Sauce

Strawberry Sauce

1 pint of organic strawberries, washed, hulled and chopped

1 tsp fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp maple syrup, grade b

Place ingredients into a saucepan and cover. Simmer ingreidents and stir occasionally.  Reduce heat and simmer for 8-10 minutes until desired strawberry mushiness is met.  Spoon over yogurt, ice cream or eat as is.

Leave a Reply

